ADE Project – ClipsTours

A week ago I got back from ADE Academy in London.  Simultaneously it feels like it was forever ago and no time at all.

Since coming home I’ve had to recharge my phone at least twice a day.  Sometimes I just put my watch on to airplane mode to manage the constant stream of notifications.  I met some of the best people at Academy.  Teachers passionate about education and making a dent in the universe.  Teachers with a clear “why” who do everything for the love of learning.  It a fantastic buzz to be part of this community.  My phone just can’t keep up with all the buzzes!

One of the reasons as well why my phone battery isn’t holding up to a full days use is Twitter, another is Apple Clips.  I’m working on a project at the moment with my friend and ADE 2017 classmate Laura Dickinson.  ClipsTours aims to showcase our world through a series of short videos made with Apple Clips.  The project has only been alive for five days and already we have 45 clips submitted spanning the whole word.  You can take a look at the map here and follow the project on twitter @clipstours or #clipstours Maybe even make one of your own!

The exciting thing for me is that its not only other ADEs getting involved, its teachers and hopefully very soon, pupils.

As an early years teacher I’ve seen the value and importance of opening pupils eyes to the worlds beyond their experience.  As a teacher in a fairly insular and closed community  I know how vital it is to grow understanding and acceptance of different people from different places.

If we want our pupils to grow up to be responsible, engaged global citizens we need them to realise that they are part of a bigger world, that they have a place and a part to play.

Its a big aim, but I’m hoping that #ClipsTours might help with that.  Lack of education leads to fear and mistrust, which can lead to prejudice, racism and a whole host of social problems.

So lets start with education.  Lets build five minutes of global awareness into our classes every day.  Lets watch clips.  Lets connect with different people in different places.

Let’s make a dent.

Leave a Reply

